About the Council

Rushmoor is one of 11 district councils in Hampshire, urban in nature but with lots of green space. We deliver a range of essential local services to our 96,000 residents and nearly 3,500 businesses. For our size we have the widest range of facilities including 4 nature reserves, 70 parks and playgrounds, a business airport, 3 railway stations, 3 swimming pools, 1 outdoor lido, 2 theatres world class sporting facilities, top performing further and higher education, a world class exhibition and conference centre and so much more.

The Council has set out a clear purpose that all of our endeavours look to support: we work with others to improve the quality of people's lives. In practice this means targeting our finite resources as effectively as we can in order to address the causes of inequality and help create opportunities for local people to fulfil their aspirations.

Our ongoing commitment to ‘Listen, Learn and Deliver – Better’ has helped us to identify the priority areas from which all of our activity springs:

-  Sustaining a thriving economy and boosting local business
-  Supporting and empowering our communities and meeting local needs
-  A cleaner, greener and more cultural Rushmoor 
-  Financially sound with services fit for the future

We have a new Council Plan 2018/19 that sets out our priorities for the year ahead and what we are doing to continue to meet the needs of residents, visitors and businesses.

Rushmoor has an exciting future, with an ambitious programme of investment and development planned which will see more than £500 million injected into regeneration over the next decade, much of it through the exciting new Wellesley development of nearly 4,000 new homes in Aldershot and the regeneration of our town centres.

Regenerating Rushmoor programme
Two Towns, One Mission (recent MJ Magazine supplement)

We have also recently brought forward a modernisation and improvement programme, Rushmoor 2020: you can see more details of this here.

Political Make-up

Rushmoor Borough Council has 39 councillors, who serve the residents of thirteen wards in Aldershot and Farnborough. Three councillors represent each ward. The current political make-up of the Council is as follows:

- Conservative: 26 
- Labour: 11
- Liberal Democrat: 1

- Independent: 1


The Leader of the Council is Councillor David Clifford and the Deputy Leader is Councillor Ken Muschamp.

Our Executive Leadership Team is made up of the Chief Executive, two Corporate Directors and the Head of Finance. There are also seven service areas:

- Democracy, Strategy & Partnerships
- Operational Services
- Finance
- IT, Projects & Facilities
- Customer Experience
- Regeneration & Property
- Economy, Planning & Strategic Housing

Our organisational structure chart is available here.